In Honor of Senior Citizens’ Month in Israel-It’s Great to be a Senior, However……

We are now in the midst of Senior Citizens’ Month in Israel when there are special programs, discounts, activities, etc…How wonderful it can be to be a “senior”…from age 60, I was able to travel for half price, get wonderful discounts in museums which I now have more time to go to as well as other wonderful cultural events, classes of all kinds, etc…The ability to just pick up and go to my various children to help with grandchildren from various parts of Israel gives me such satisfaction in following in my own wonderful mother’s footsteps…There is more time to do some geriatric counselling which I love as well as helping out a bit at my husband’s Herby’s Bake Shop….

However, there is a very big “down” side which I am feeling these days….not only have I begun to feel some “senioritis” with various aches and pains but have also been going through major emotional “downs” of being with some very sick friends and family…the “loses” of aging have begun to hit hard….

To quote my friend, Fern who so desperately needs our prayers now(Tsipora Faiga bat Leeba Bracha), we must always be looking at the positive and be thankful for what we have…so I try to smile, be thankful for my wonderful friends, family and community, for the ability to get up and go, to help, to hope that cures will be found, that there will be true inner and outer peace for all….

Debbie Dan

Geriatric Consultant for Elderly Parents, Adult Children & Olim

Guidance about Living Options, & Community Resources

A Helping Hand with Debbie Dan

Israeli Cell: 052-391-9328

American Phone 347-448-4177

Email: debbiedan1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

