Stay Safe, Seniors!

During the first week of this simply terrorizing situation here in Israel, I stayed home, a bit nervous to go out but mainly due to the erratic public transportation. Folks were complaining how it took hours to get to or come back from destinations due to security checks or the fact that many buses were not running.  The next week, I could stay home no longer and was eager to get out to my regular busy schedule of learning, reunions, working a bit, etc I therefore, carry around my good ol pepper spray, making sure to wear something with a pocket so that I could easily pull it out if need be.  Instead of reading a good book or looking at my emails/FB on my “cell” I was constantly looking around for “suspicious” characters…

Then I saw an ad for a self defense session specifically for age 60 plus in English…I jumped at the chance to empower myself more…Learning some techniques of using our voice to scream “NO, NO…” while hitting the attacker in the face while holding the arm with the knife to the side, surprises and weakens…not to run away at first but to fight and then flight; the pepper spray being good for the bystander to help or after weakening him then using it….we were encourage to come to more classes; more are being offered in English and I hope to participate…

Feeling more empowered makes us feel more secure! Awareness and of course having “Emunah”(Faith) helps…..Wishing you all a very safe week….

Leave a Reply

